applicationContext = Production

Data preservation

The end of an experiment does not automatically mean that the scientific work is finished. Scientists often continue to work with the data that have been measured. This allows them to check current results on the basis of earlier data, for example. “Old” data may possibly reveal new findings long after the experiments are over - for example when they can be analyzed by means of new, improved methods.

It is therefore worthwhile preserving the data. In addition, significant investments are made in the setting up and operation of experiments. The objective should therefore be to keep the measurement data usable for a long period of time and to gain as much knowledge as possible from it.

The Max Planck Institute for Physics is actively involved in digitizing and reformatting data from past experiments for upcoming generations of researchers. Physicists and IT experts develop methods that will allow the IT systems of the future to process and evaluate data, analytical software and documentation as well. They frequently use so-called virtual machines which simulate past operating systems or applications on modern computers.

Which past experiments are still providing data today?

HERA experiment H1

H1 and the other experiments (e.g. Hera-B and ZEUS) at the HERA accelerator ring showed that a proton is much more complex than previously assumed: It consists of a large number of quarks, antiquarks and gluons. H1 helped to prove that the electromagnetic and the weak nuclear forces are two aspects of a single electroweak force at high energies.

The H1 Group at the Max Planck Institute for Physics  made crucial contributions to the construction of the main detector component, the liquid argon calorimeter, and developed all the read-out and trigger electronics for the calorimeter.

The Group has furthermore realized novel concepts to trigger the detector read-out. One example is the so-called “jet trigger”, which is able to trace all particle bundles produced in the electron-proton collision in the calorimeter within only 800 nanoseconds, and use them for a complex filtering of desired events.

And ten years or so ago, it had already developed and was operating the world’s only trigger to use artificial neuronal networks – whose architecture was modeled on that of the human brain – for the rapid and efficient recognition of patterns of interesting electron-proton scattering processes.

Both projects are examples of how modern electronics are used to approach physically complicated problems where time is of critical importance.

HERA experiments HERA-B and ZEUS

In the HERA-B experiment, interactions produced particles including heavy quarks such as “charm” and “beauty”. HERA-B was developed to investigate the CP violation with the beauty quarks. Particles and antiparticles here do not decay in the same way – which is a violation of CP (charge parity) symmetry. HERA-B published results in the charm quark sector and on quantum chromodynamics (QCD), the theory of the strong force. The Institute developed the modules for the silicon vertex detector.

ZEUS was a massive detector weighing 3,600 tons with a uranium scintillation calorimeter at its heart. This calorimeter recorded the bundled high-energy particles which are produced when protons are probed with electrons. The data evaluation has been providing answers about the proton structure and how QCD works up until today.

JADE

The JADE experiment was one of the experiments on the positron-electron ring accelerator PETRA at DESY in Hamburg. JADE

More information and data of the JADE experiment

OPAL

The OPAL experiment (Omni Purpose Apparatus at LEP) ran from 1989 to 2000 at the Large Electron-Positron Collider (LEP) at CERN near Geneva in Switzerland. LEP is the forerunner of the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) and was installed in the same tunnel at the end of the 1980s.

LEP’s objective was to generate collisions between electrons and positrons, their antiparticles, at extreme energies in order to be able to study what were then the newly discovered W and Z bosons in detail and to look for new phenomena.

Collisions between electrons and positrons generate pure energy, which gives birth to new particles. They are therefore produced under particularly simple and controlled conditions so that very accurate measurements are possible.

The OPAL experiment was one of four large experiments at the LEP and recorded several million electron-positron collisions, which were produced at energies corresponding to the mass of the Z boson (91.2 gigaelectronvolts, GeV) right through to the highest LEP energy of 209 GeV. In more than 300 publications, these data were used to establish the Standard Model of particle physics which is valid today.

The data from the OPAL experiment (and the other LEP experiments) are unique even today and cannot be replaced by other data, for example the LHC experiments. This explains why one Group at the MPP is engaged in preserving the data and the software needed to analyze them. The OPAL data can be used to investigate current issues of particle physics which arise as a result of new or improved theories. In recent years, researchers at the MPP have thus produced several papers which have been published in established journals and are frequently cited.

CERN SPS experiment NA49

The subject of the NA49 experiment at the SPS accelerator at CERN was the investigation of high-energy collisions of lead nuclei. Such collisions transiently produce matter of extremely high density and temperature. The nucleons of the colliding nuclei dissolve into a state of quasi-free quarks and gluons (partons), the quark-gluon plasma (QGP). The early universe also passed through this unusual state of matter immediately after the Big Bang.

After rapid expansion and cooling, the QGP decays again into hadrons (baryons and mesons) which are registered in the detector. The measurements conducted by NA49 between 1994 and 2002 on the energy dependence of the production of many different types of hadrons showed that the transition into the QGP starts at a collision energy of around 7 gigaelectronvolts (GeV) per colliding nucleon pair in the center of mass reference frame.

The NA49 Working Group and the technical departments of the Institute developed and constructed crucial parts of the experiment, including the two large-volume time projection chambers, the forward calorimeter for selecting head-on collisions, and the data acquisition system.

The NA49 detector was handed over to the NA61 collaboration in 2007, which is using it to undertake a systematic investigation of the phase diagram of hadronic matter using a variety of nuclei. The results of NA49 form part of this program. The measurement data therefore continue to be made available at CERN to enable newly developed analytical methods to be applied to them and to publish the results.

STAR experiment at the RHIC

The study of highly compressed and heated matter which started at the CERN SPS was continued in the STAR experiment at the RHIC (Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider, Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA). Compared with NA49,there collisions of gold nuclei were performed at even higher energies up to 200 gigaelectronvolts (GeV) per nucleon pair. The higher energy density and hence longer lifetime of the quark-gluon plasma (QGP) allows a more accurate measurement of the properties of this state of matter. From the results scientists concluded that the QGP behaves like an ideal fluid.

Furthermore, measurements of jet production (bundles of particles) with large transverse momentum demonstrated the expected strong energy loss in the QGP of the high-energy partons, from which the jets form (jet quenching). The high energy density of the QGP produced at the RHIC allows a comparison to be made with results from computations of QCD theory of the strong interaction in the non-perturbative regime (QCD simulation on a space-time lattice) for the first time.

STAR is also conducting a program of experiments with polarized protons to gain insights into the composition of the proton spin.

The contribution of the MPP to the STAR detector was the development and construction of the two time projection chambers (FTPC) with novel radial drift direction. These chambers expanded the measurement range of the central TPC into the region of small production angles.

STAR started to acquire data in 1999 and has expanded its measurements towards lower energies, which also cover part of the energy range of the CERN SPS. The experiment will remain active for several more years.

applicationContext = Production

Data Preservation

Das Ende eines Experiments bedeutet nicht automatisch, dass die wissenschaftliche Arbeit abgeschlossen ist. Häufig arbeiten Wissenschaftler weiterhin mit den Messdaten. Zum Beispiel können sie damit aktuelle Ergebnisse anhand früherer Daten überprüfen. Möglicherweise liefern "alte" Daten lange nach dem Abschluss der Versuche neue Erkenntnisse - etwa, wenn sie mit neuen, verbesserten Verfahren analysiert werden können. 

Daten aufzuheben, lohnt sich also. Zudem fließen in den Aufbau und Betrieb von Experimenten hohe Investitionen. Ziel sollte daher sein, die Messdaten lange nutzbar zu halten und möglichst viele Erkenntnisse daraus zu gewinnen.

Das Max-Planck-Institut für Physik beteiligt sich aktiv daran, Daten früherer Experimente für kommende Wissenschaftler-Generationen zu digitalisieren und aufzubereiten. Physiker und IT-Experten entwickeln Methoden, um Daten, Analysesoftware und Dokumentationen auch in künftigen IT-Systemen bearbeiten und auswerten zu können. Häufig nutzen sie dafür so genannte virtuelle Maschinen, die frühere Betriebssysteme oder Anwendungen auf modernen Rechnern simulieren.

Welche früheren Experimente liefern heute noch Daten?

HERA-Experiment H1

Der HERA-Beschleunigerring
Der HERA-Beschleunigerring (Foto: Desy)

H1 und die anderen Experimente (z.B. Hera-B und ZEUS) am Beschleunigerring HERA zeigten, dass ein Proton viel komplexer ist als bisher angenommen: Es besteht aus einer großen Anzahl an Quarks, Antiquarks und Gluonen. H1 half zu beweisen, dass bei hohen Energien die elektromagnetische und die schwache Kernkraft zwei Aspekte einer einzigen elektroschwachen Kraft sind.

Die H1-Gruppe am Max-Planck-Institut für Physik war maßgeblich am Bau der Hauptkomponente des Detektors, dem Flüssig-Argon-Kalorimeter, beteiligt und hatte die gesamte Auslese- und Trigger-Elektronik für das Kalorimeter entwickelt.

Weiterhin hatte die Gruppe neuartige Konzepte zum Auslösen der Detektorauslese („Trigger“) realisiert. Dies ist zum einen der so genannte „Jet-Trigger“, der in der Lage ist, innerhalb von nur 800 Nanosekunden alle in der Elektron-Proton-Kollision entstehenden Teilchenbündel im Kalorimeter aufzuspüren und für eine komplexe Filterung erwünschter Ereignisse zu nutzen.

Zum anderen wurde schon vor etwa zehn Jahren ein weltweit einzigartiger Trigger entwickelt und betrieben, der künstliche neuronale Netze – in ihrer Architektur dem Vorbild des menschlichen Gehirns nachempfunden – zur schnellen und effizienten Mustererkennung von interessanten Elektron-Proton-Streuprozessen verwendet.

Beide Projekte sind Beispiele für den Einsatz modernster Elektronik bei physikalisch komplizierten und zeitkritischen Fragestellungen.

HERA-Experimente HERA-B und ZEUS

Im Experiment HERA-B entstanden durch Wechselwirkungen unter anderem schwere Quarks wie „Charm“ und „Beauty“. HERA-B wurde entwickelt, um die CP-Verletzung im Bereich der Beauty-Quarks zu untersuchen. Hier zerfallen Teilchen und Antiteilchen ungleich – was die Verletzung der CP- (Charge parity) Symmetrie ist. HERA-B veröffentlichte Ergebnisse im Charm-Quark-Sektor und zur Quantenchromodynamik (QCD), der Theorie der starken Kraft. Das Institut entwickelte die Module des Silizum-Vertexdetektors.

ZEUS war mit 3.600 Tonnen Gewicht ein massiver Detektor, dessen Herzstück ein Uranium-Szintillator-Kalorimeter war. Dieses Kalorimeter, zeichnete die gebündelten energiereichen Teilchen auf, die bei der Sondierung von Protonen mit Elektronen entstehen. Die Auswertung der Daten liefert bis heute Antworten zur Struktur des Protons und der Wirkungsweise der QCD.

JADE

Das JADE-Experiment war eines der Experimente am Positron-Elektron-Ringbeschleuniger PETRA am DESY in Hamburg.

Mehr Informationen und Daten

OPAL

Das OPAL-Experiment (Omni Purpose Apparatus at LEP) lief von 1989 bis 2000 am Large Electron-Positron Collider (LEP) des CERN bei Genf in der Schweiz. LEP ist der Vorgänger des Large Hadron Collider (LHC) und wurde Ende der 80er Jahre im selben Tunnel installiert.

Ziel von LEP war es, Kollisionen von Elektronen und ihren Antiteilchen Positronen bei höchsten Energien zu erzeugen, um die seinerzeit neu entdeckten W- und Z-Bosonen im Detail studieren zu können sowie nach neuen Phänomenen zu suchen.

Bei der Kollision von Elektronen und Positronen entsteht reine Energie, aus der neue Teilchen hervorgehen. Diese werden also unter besonders einfachen und kontrollierten Bedingungen produziert, so dass sehr genaue Messungen möglich sind.

Das OPAL-Experiment war eines von vier großen Experimenten am LEP und hat mehrere Millionen Elektron-Positron Kollisionen aufgezeichnet, die bei Energien entsprechend der Masse des Z-Bosons (91,2 Gigaelektronenvolt, GeV) bis hin zur höchsten LEP-Energie von 209 GeV erzeugt wurden. Mit diesen Daten wurde in mehr als 300 Publikationen das heute gültige Standardmodell der Teilchenphysik etabliert.

Die Daten des OPAL Experiments (und der anderen LEP-Experimente) sind auch heute noch einzigartig und lassen nicht nicht durch andere Daten, zum Beispiel der LHC Experimente, ersetzen. Deshalb beschäftigt sich am MPP eine Gruppe mit der Aufbewahrung der Daten und der für die Datenanalyse notwendigen Software. Aktuelle Fragen der Teilchenphysik, die durch neue oder verbesserte Theorien entstehen, können mit den OPAL-Daten untersucht werden. Am MPP entstanden auf diese Weise in den letzten Jahren einige Arbeiten, die in anerkannten Journalen publiziert wurden und häufig zitiert werden.

CERN-SPS Experiment NA49

Das NA49-Experiment: Ein typischer Teilchenschauer nach der Kollision von zwei Blei-Atomkernen
Das NA49-Experiment: Ein typischer Teilchenschauer nach der Kollision von zwei Blei-Atomkernen (Bild: NA49-Kollaboration)

Thema des Experiments NA49 am CERN-Beschleuniger SPS war die Untersuchung von hochenergetischen Zusammenstößen von Blei-Atomkernen. Dabei entsteht kurzzeitig Materie mit extrem hoher Dichte und Temperatur. Die Nukleonen der kollidierenden Kerne lösen sich in einem Zustand quasi-freier Quarks und Gluonen (Partonen) auf, das Quark-Gluon-Plasma (QGP). Diesen ungewöhnlichen Materiezustand hat unmittelbar nach dem Urknall auch das frühe Universum durchlaufen.

Nach rascher Expansion und Abkühlung zerfällt das QGP wieder in Hadronen (Baryonen und Mesonen), die im Detektor registriert werden. Die von NA49 in den Jahren 1994 bis 2002 durchgeführten Messungen der Energieabhängigkeit der Produktion zahlreicher verschiedener Arten von Hadronen haben gezeigt, dass der Übergang in das QGP bei einer Stoßenergie von etwa 7 Gigaelektronenvolt (GeV) pro kollidierendes Nukleonenpaar im Schwerpunktsystem einsetzt.

Wesentliche Teile des Experimentes wurden von der NA49-Arbeitsgruppe und den technischen Abteilungen des Instituts entwickelt und gebaut, unter anderem die beiden großvolumigen Spurendriftkammern, das Vorwärtskalorimeter zur Selektion zentraler Stöße sowie das Datenerfassungssystem.

Der NA49-Detektor wurde 2007 an die NA61-Kollaboration übergeben, die damit eine systematische Untersuchung des Phasendiagramms hadronischer Materie unter Benutzung verschiedener Kerne durchführt. Die Ergebnisse von NA49 bilden Teil dieses Programms. Die Messdaten werden daher weiterhin im CERN verfügbar gehalten, um neu entwickelte Analysemethoden anwenden und die Ergebnisse publizieren zu können.

STAR Experiment am RHIC

FTPC West im STAR Experiment. Die blauen Paneele bilden die äußere Abschirmung der FTPC. Außerdem sieht man das Strahlrohr des RHIC (im Bild nach links zeigend).
FTPC West im STAR Experiment. Die blauen Paneele bilden die äußere Abschirmung der FTPC. Außerdem sieht man das Strahlrohr des RHIC (im Bild nach links zeigend). (Foto: STAR-Kollaboration)

Die am CERN SPS begonnene Untersuchung hoch verdichteter und erhitzter Materie wurde am RHIC (Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider, Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA) im STAR-Experiment fortgesetzt. Im Vergleich zu NA49 wurden dort Gold-Atomkerne bei noch höheren Stoßenergien bis zu 200 Gigaelektronenvolt (GeV) pro Nukleonenpaar zur Kollision gebracht. Die höhere Energiedichte und folglich längere Lebensdauer des Quark-Gluon-Plasmas (QGP) ermöglichen eine genauere Messung der Eigenschaften dieses Materiezustands. Ein Resultat war, dass sich das QGP wie eine ideale Flüssigkeit verhält.

Außerdem zeigten Messungen der Produktion von Jets (Teilchenbündeln) mit hohem transversalem Impuls den im QGP erwarteten starken Energieverlust der energiereichen Partonen, aus denen die Jets entstehen (Jet Quenching). Die hohe Energiedichte des am RHIC erzeugten QGP erlaubt erstmalig einen Vergleich mit Ergebnissen aus Rechnungen der QCD-Theorie der starken Wechselwirkung im nicht-perturbativen Bereich (QCD-Simulation auf einem Raum-Zeit-Gitter).

STAR betreibt auch ein Experimentierprogramm mit polarisierten Protonen, um Erkenntnisse über die Zusammensetzung des Spins des Protons zu gewinnen.

Der Beitrag des MPP zum STAR-Detektor bestand aus der Entwicklung und dem Bau der beiden Spurendriftkammern (FTPC) mit neuartiger radialer Driftrichtung. Diese erweiterten den Messbereich der zentralen TPC in den Bereich kleiner Erzeugungswinkel, was besonders die Genauigkeit der Messungen verbesserte.

STAR begann mit der Datennahme im Jahr 1999 und hat seinen Messbereich bis zu niedrigeren Energien erweitert, die auch den Energiebereich des CERN SPS überdecken. Das Experiment wird noch mehrere Jahre aktiv bleiben.