applicationContext = Production


JADE was one of the experiments at the positron-electron ring accelerator PETRA at DESY in Hamburg. From 1979 and 1986, the experiment recorded data of electron-positron annihilations at energies between 12 and 46.6 GeV. 

The JADE detector comprised novel technologies like accurate tracking of charged particles in the central "jet chamber" with fast multi-hit electronics, measurement and identification of photons, electrons and muons over wide regions of phase-space, and maximal hermeticity and symmetry of the detector systems. 

Scientific highlight results were the (co-)discovery of the gluon, establishment of jet-physics and tests of Quantum-Chromodynamics, establishment of string-hadronisation, electro-weak precision tests, two-photon physics and searches for New Physics like Super-Symmetry, free quarks and the - at that time still undiscovered - top-quark.

In 1997, the JADE data were copied onto modern data carriers and were thus saved from being lost. At the same time, a research group, then at the University of Aachen and now located at the MPP, started to re-vitalise software and re-analyse the data. In 2011 the 21 logbooks of the JADE experiment were digitised. 

The latest meeting and reunion of the JADE collaboration was in August 2009 at DESY. Photos taken and talks presented at that meeting, as well as digitised versions of JADE logbooks, of all JADE Notes and minutes of previous collaboration meetings can be accessed here. More photos from the lifetime of JADE, complete lists of publications, results from the post-mortem era and information on the availability and usage of JADE data and software are available on these expert pages.

Collaboration members

John Allison    
Karl Ambrus EADS  
J. Armitage    
John Baines    
Austin Ball    
G. Bamford    
Roger Barlow University of Huddersfield  
Wulfrin Bartel deceased  
Lutz Becker    
A. Bell    
Siggi Bethke MPI München  
Chris Bowdery Uni Lancaster  
T. Canzler    
Susan Cartwright Uni Sheffield  
Jan Chrin Paul Scherrer Institute  
Don Clarke verstorben/deceased  
Dieter Cords verstorben/deceased  
Derek Darvill    
Andreas Dieckmann    
Gerhard Dietrich Hochschule Mannheim  
Peter Dittmann verstorben/deceased  
Herbert Drumm Bad Kreuznach  
Ian Duerdoth    
Guenter Eckerlin DESY  
Ralph Eichler ETH Zuerich  
Eckhard Elsen DESY  
Rolf Felst DESY (retired)  
Alex Finch Uni Lancaster  
Frank Foster verstorben/deceased  
E. Gadermann    
R. Glasser verstorben/deceased  
Ian Glendinning Austrian Institute of Technology  
Malcolm Goddard Carleton Uni  
Tim Greenshaw Uni Liverpool  
Joerg Hagemann    
Thomas Hagestedt    
Dieter Haidt DESY  
John Hassard    
Richard Hedgecock Chichester W.  
Stefan Hegner    
Joachim Heintze verstorben/deceased  
Goetz Heinzelmann DESY / Uni Hamburg  
M. Helm    
Rolf Heuer    
Paul Hill    
Chris Howarth    
Gareth Hughes verstorben/deceased  
J. Huttunen    
Masatoshi Imori    
H. Junge    
Henning Kado retired  
Junichi Kanzaki KEK  
Setsuya Kawabata KEK  
Kiyotomo Kawagoe Kyushu Univ.  
Tatsuo Kawamoto    
Barry King verstorben/deceased  
Claus Kleinwort DESY  
Gerhard Knies    
Tomio Kobayashi ICEPP  
Sachio Komamiya ICEPP  
Masatoshi Koshiba Heisei Foundation for Basic Research  
Hans Krehbiel verstorben/deceased  
Michael Kuhlen    
Petri Laurikainen    
Peter Lennert    
Fred Loebinger Uni Manchester  
Peter Luetke    
A. Macbeth    
Norbert Magnussen Uni Wuppertal  
Robin Marshall Uni Manchester  
Tetsuro Mashimo ICEPP, Uni Tokyo  
Hajime Matsumura    
Hugh McCann University of Edinburgh  
Karlheinz Meier verstorben/deceased  
R. Meinke    
K. Meissner    
Dave Mercer    
H. Meyer    
Robin Middleton Rutherford  
David Miller University College  
Howard Mills retired  
Makoto Minowa Uni Tokyo  
Paul Murphy deceased  
Beate Naroska verstorben/deceased  
Mitsuaki Nozaki KEK  
Tadao Nozaki verstorben/deceased  
John Nye      
Shigeru Odaka KEK  
Thorsten Oest    
Jan Olsson DESY  
Larry O'Neill    
Shuji Orito verstorben/deceased  
Farid Ould-Saada Uni Oslo  
Geoffrey Pearce Rutherford  
Alfred Petersen    
Esko Pietarinen    
Daniel Pitzl DESY  
Sabine Platz    
Jeffrey Pryce    
Harry Prosper Florida State Uni  
Reinhard Pust    
Rainer Ramcke verstorben/deceased  
H. Riege    
Hans Rieseberg Uni Heidelberg  
Michael Rippert    
Philip Rowe    
A. Sato    
Holger Schiemann    
D. Schmidt    
Uwe Schneekloth DESY  
Florian Schroth    
Ingeborg Schwartz    
B. Sechi-Zorn verstorben/deceased  
Hans-Jürgen Seidel    
John-Artur Skard    
Ludek Smolik    
Jozef Spitzer    
Peter Steffen    
Keith Stephens    
T. Suda verstorben/deceased  
Hiroshi Takeda    
Toru Takeshita    
Y. Totsuka verstorben/deceased  
H Von der Schmitt MPI Muenchen  
Juergen Von Krogh Uni Heidelberg  
Albrecht Wagner    
Steve Wagner    
Ian Walker    
Peter Warming    
Y. Watanabe    
Gustav Weber verstorben/deceased  
Armin Wegner    
H. Wenninger    
J. Whittaker    
W. Wietbrock    
Henning Wriedt    
Sakue Yamada KEK  
Chiaki Yanagisawa Stony Brook Uni  
W. Yen    
M. Zachara    
Y. Zhang    
Manfred Zimmer DESY  
Gus Zorn verstorben/deceased