The Max Planck Institute for Physics (MPP) is part of the Max Planck Society. This research organization encompasses a total of 86 Institutes that undertake basic research in a wide variety of fields - from astrophysics through to terrestrial microbiology. Around 90 percent of the funding for the Max Planck Society is provided by the German Federal Government and the Federal States.

The Max Planck Institute for Physics comprises seven Departments, each headed by a Director. All are internationally renowned scientists in their field. Three Departments undertake experimental work; four concentrate on the further development of physical theories. Two current priorities of this research work are the building blocks of matter and the search for dark matter in the universe.

The Munich-based Institute is home to a total of around 330 employees from different countries. More than 200 of them work in the scientific departments as permanent staff, postdoctoral researchers and PhD students. Moreover, there are 120 positions in the technical departments (electronical and mechanical engineering, IT and apprentice workshops) and in administration (as of May 1, 2021).

Max Planck Fellows

Independent Research Groups

Further groups

External scientific members

  • Prof. Dr. Halina Abramowicz (Tel Aviv University)
  • Prof. Dr. Viatcheslav Mukhanov (LMU)

Emeriti of the Max Planck Institute for Physics

External Committees

Scientific Advisory Board


Prof. Dr. Stan Bentvelsen
Universiteit van Amsterdam

Prof. Dr. Klaus Desch
Universität Bonn

Prof. Dr. Brian Foster

Prof. Dr. Juan M. Maldacena
Institute for Advanced Study Princeton

Prof. Dr. Kate Scholberg
Duke University

Prof. Dr. Mikhail Shifman
University of Minnesota

Prof. Dr. Géraldine Servant
Universität Hamburg / DESY

Sir Prof. Dr. Tejinder Singh Virdee
Imperial College London

Scientific reports

The Max Planck Institute for Physics publishes reports on scientific activities and progress on a regular basis. The reports are used by the Scientific Advisory Board to evaluate the quality of the research work performed at the Institute. 

Board of trustees

Prof. Dr. Francesca Biagini
Vice President at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich

Kristina Frank
Municipal speaker, City of Munich

Dr. Wolfgang Hanrieder
Entrepreneur, Planegg

Prof. Dr. Claudia Peus
Vice President at the Technical University of Munich

Dr. Hans Pongratz
Chief Information Officer at the Technical University of Munich

Dr. Ulf von Rauchhaupt
Scientific Editor, Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung, Frankfurt/Main

Dr. Jeanne Rubner
Editor in Chief, Research and Education, Bayrischer Rundfunk Radio, Munich

Prof. Dr. Helmut Schwarz
Technische Universität Berlin

Florian Siekmann, MdL
Faction Bündnis 90/Die Grünen, Bayrischer Landtag (Bavarian Parliament), Munich

Charlotte Warakulle
Director for International Relations CERN, Geneva, Switzerland

Dr. Manfred Wolter, MinDirig
Head of Department for Innovation, Research and Technology at the Bavarian Ministry for Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy, Munich