Information for future IMPRS students

Following your successful application, you will become a member of the IMPRS and receive a contract for three years. The IMPRS curriculum will complement the doctoral study. IMPRS doctoral candidates enroll at either Ludwig Maximilian University Munich (LMU) or the Technical University of Munich (TUM); you will receive your PhD degree from one of the two universities.

Doctoral candidates at TUM are required to serve as instructors for laboratory courses or exercises. At LMU, teaching activity is recommended. More information:

Doctoral study at the TUM Physics Department

Doctoral study at the LMU

PhD student representatives at the MPP

If you have more questions on the IMPRS PhD study, you can turn to the representatives of the doctoral students at the MPP.

Giacomo Contri,
Representatives Committee Spokesperson

Daniel Buchin,
Speaker of the experimental department Prof. Kado

Moritz Kellermann,
Speaker of the experimental department Prof. Caldwell
Groups:  AWAKE, Belle II, COSINUS, LEGEND, MADMAX, research groups Dr. Capel, Dr. Döbrich

Antonela Matijašić,
Speaker of the theoretical departments  Prof. Dvali, Prof. Henn, Dr. Raffelt
Groups: Theoretical astroparticle physics, Quantum field theory

Giorgio Pirola,
Speaker of the experimental department Prof. Teshima

Alessandro Ratti,
Speaker of the theoretical departments Prof. Lüst, Prof. Zanderighi
Groups: String theory, Novel computational techniques in particle physics